Greenhouse Tours

Tuesday 5 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Tuesday 12 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Tuesday 19 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Tuesday 26 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Friday 8 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Friday 15 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Friday 22 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Friday 29 March 2013 11:00amTickets available
Thursday 7 March 2013 2:00pmTickets available
Thursday 14 March 2013 2:00pmTickets available
Thursday 21 March 2013 2:00pmTickets available
Thursday 28 March 2013 2:00pmTickets available
Saturday 9 March 2013 1:00pmTickets available
Saturday 16 March 2013 1:00pmTickets available
Saturday 30 March 2013 1:00pmTickets available
Included in suggested donation. Limited to 10 people per tour. Tickets distributed first-come first-served at the Visitor Center upon opening each day.

Location: Greenhouse & Meet on the 2nd Floor of the Visitor Center

Part of: Orchid Month, Garden Events, Garden, Orchids

Tell your friends:

A greater number and variety of orchids are in bloom during March than any other season at Hillwood, and improved cultivation methods have made the greenhouses more lush and vibrant than ever. 

While many public gardens have tropical and orchid displays, Hillwood is one of the few in the Mid-Atlantic region to have a working greenhouse where visitors are treated to behind-the-scenes tours.  Marjorie Post had the greenhouses at Hillwood constructed to house her extensive collection of exotic orchids and cut flowers grown for floral arrangements throughout the Mansion. Jason Gedeik, head of greenhouse design and operations, leads a short tour of the working greenhouse, highlighting its history, Post’s infatuation with orchids, and the exotic blooms and fragrances on display now.

  • Tuesdays and Fridays in March at 11am
  • Thursdays in March at 2pm
  • Saturdays in March at 1pm (NOTE: there is no greenhouse tour on Sat. March 23, due to Fabergé Egg Family Festival)

Limited to 10 per tour. Tickets are distributed at the Visitor Center upon opening each day. 

You might be interested in: